Posted on

The Editor Review

editor1-699x1024

 

 

 

IMDB:

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt3067274/

 

TRAILER:

TRAILER UPLOADED TO YOUTUBE BY SCREAM FACTORY

Sorry about large sized trailer and poster, but I am not in sizing or editing mood.

So, Shudder, so far decent start with 31,  I was very pleased to see Astron 6 titles, I own the multipack, I have yet to watch it, been 4 years?  It recently moved to my desk when I was prepping for my next move.  They also have Manborg, and Father’s Day, which I own, but I was so stoked to see The Editor, amongst titles, part of reason I took this membership.  So in the void til Divorced Dad, if it ever does come out, here is my other must see.

I am not huge on Giallos.  I have dabbled in the genre, but have issues often with them dragging or being cookie cutters to each other, so nervous on this one.  Astron 6 tho, suspecting will be batshit crazy and fun.

A giallo film editor, has a series of murders going on around him, cutting and editing his newest masterpiece.  People are dispatched by the regular offscreen, black gloved killer, all leading back to the editor.

That is all I will say for plot, there are a lot of twists and a what the fuck ending, I would not give away.  This is a well made, fun, often hilarious film.  Nicely splattery with loads of well done gore, and a lot of nudity.  It captures the perfect feel of the early 80s giallo, including the dubbed over italian accents badly done.  I won’t lie, true to it’s source, this film is a bit of a slow burn, for quite awhile, but it more than makes up for it, much like the majority of it’s source.  Odd sex, in jokes, a scene inspired by Hitch-Hike parodied well, and not terribly predictable climax, with an ending, that is completely unpredictable.

I was sure I would like this, shocked it exceeded expectations.  Pacing is only issue really, which is intentional as goes with the genre.

RATING: A- (81%)

PROS:

Has a fun sense of humor, likeable lead, is very well adapted to it’s genre and time,  very violent and gory, well done effects, some great nudity.

CONS:

Drags for about 20 minutes total.

Shudder is really starting to be worth it..No issues with this whatsoever

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

